How to File for Divorce without attorney
File for Divorce without Attorney
Filing for a Florida divorce without attorney (also known as pro-se divorce) is not as complicated as many people think.
Yes, there are many documents needed to file for divorce however with a little guidance anyone can file for divorce easily, especially if the divorce is in mutual agreement.
Without a doubt, the easiest Florida divorce available is when there are no children or assets and bills to divide. Just a few divorce forms completed and you are good to go. If the divorce is in mutual agreement then the divorce can be final within 30 days and without ever stepping in to the courthouse.
With a few forms completed then filed at the courthouse, this type of divorce is typically done within one month, as a pro-se Florida divorce and without much fanfare.
A Florida divorce can be complicated when there are properties and bills to divide but if both parties are in mutual agreement and can sit down and complete a Marital Settlement Agreement, the divorce can be finalized in a short amount of time.
Price for Divorce without an Attorney
Minor children born in the marriage at the time of the divorce makes for a complicated divorce. In this type of divorce a parenting plan must be attached to the divorce petition.
A few years ago a Florida divorce meant filling out papers, file them in a courthouse and then attend a hearing. If both parties were in mutual agreement the hearing would take 5 minutes.
If the parties were not in agreement the judge would most likely have the parties attend a mediation session.
The mediator would help the parties divide their assets, liabilities and if there were children, establish a parenting plan that assured the wellbeing and safety of the children after the divorce was granted. Then the mediator would send the report to the judge and a final hearing would be scheduled where the mediator’s report would most likely be adopted.
For the most part family law is pretty clear cut as to the process and outcome of a divorce. As long as one of the parties want the divorce it’s pretty much a done deal. If there are children child support will be calculated based on the income, parenting plan and some child related expenses.
There is pretty much all that needs to be considered when you are trying to figure out how to file for a Florida divorce by yourself.
However there are times that you may wonder if you are crazy about filing for a Florida divorce without an attorney, but unless there are major issues relating to money, assets, liabilities or domestic violence, there is a possibility that you will be fine filing for divorce as a pro-se litigant.
Finally, when you file for divorce without attorney you can apply for the Application of Indigent Status. If approved you will not need to pay the court filing fee, a savings of $409.00 in almost every county in Florida. You may qualify if you make less than $26,000 a year and have one child.